Crooked Creek Watershed Association

Click here for more projects like this building of Keystone Lake wildlife habitats. Learn more about upcoming events like Adopt-a-Lake. Click here. click here to take a virtual wildflower walk


New! Join us for a virtual Wildflower walk to Buttermilk Falls then turn off the computer and get outdoors to see how many you can spy for real!

join us on facebook

click here to take a virtual wildflower tour

cranes bill flower


Started in 1981, CrCWA has completed a DCNR "Watershed Conservation Plan." We completed a "Non-Point Source Pollution Assessment." CrCWA worked with the Army Corps on an embayment project at the outflow of the dam to create parking, picnic area, rest rooms, fishable waters, and a handicapped fishing pier. CrCWA has constructed numerous stream bank stabilization/ fish habitat projects along Plum Creek, and Cherry Run, Falcon Park, and Campbell's Run. We participated in the annual ORSANCO "River Sweep" project, cleaning up trash, and the PA Fish and Boat (PA F&B) , “Adopt-A-Lake” program, building a variety of fish habitat structures in Keystone Lake. We have also created habitat structures (brush piles) in Crooked Creek Lake. In cooperation with PA F&B, we also built the Rosston public boat launch, the only one in Pool #6. We have constructed numerous passive wetland treatment areas for treatment of mine discharge: Tanoma Bore Hole, Fort Armstrong Horseman's Association facility, Myers/Runninger Flats, Keystone Lake Wetlands. Each July, beginning in 1985, CrCWA has hosted an Annual Fish Fry and Picnic for our members, friends, and the community. We actively support local environmental educational causes.


The CrCWA Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of every month. The meetings are held at 7 p.m. in the Armstrong County Courthouse Annex building, 2nd floor (fully accessible) in Kittanning, PA. You are welcome to attend and participate. Any ideas for making improvements to the watershed are continually needed and welcomed.

Annual Meeting
In addition, an annual members meeting is held every April. Please join us.

Board of Directors

Dennis Hawley
Terry Tokarek
Vice President
Pam Meade
Lauren Gogal Communication Director
Jack Augustine
Henry Herbst
LeeRoy Vatter
Associate Directors
Cassandra Allen

Dave Beale

Josh Brown
Anne Daymut
David Meade
Brooke Russick
Thanks to our Sponsor!